Reviews from our guests for Shamrock Cottage

Our guests have kindly provided reviews, take their word for it!

 

We really did say “wow!

“Exactly as advertised, maybe even better! The bar was set high after seeing all the positive reviews, but Anita met or exceeded all expectations. From the moment I placed my reservation she was responsive, thoughtful, helpful, and friendly; and we really did say “wow!” when we walked in the front door. This serene retreat has everything. Lake views, easy lake access, the pastoral feel of swans and sheep and cows everywhere; but 100% modern amenities in a clean, beautiful, well lit home. Could not have asked for more.”

Review by PL, America – Oct. 2018

Perfect for rest:

Wir wurden sehr herzlich von Anita empfangen und sie hat uns sehr viel erklärt, über das Haus und die Umgebung. Ihr Bananenbrot, das sie uns frisch gebacken hatte, war sehr lecker !! Das Haus ist sehr abgelegen und somit zur Erholung perfekt. Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt und konnten die Abende am Kamin geniessen. Die Einkaufsmöglichkeiten sind 30 Minuten von dem Haus entfernt, deshalb sollte man vorher einkaufen.

We were warmly welcomed by Anita and she explained a lot about the house and the surroundings. Her banana bread, which she had baked fresh, was delicious! The house is very remote and therefore perfect for rest. We felt very comfortable and could enjoy the evenings by the fireplace. The shops are 30 minutes from the house, so you should go shopping before.

Review by MS, Germany – Oct. 2018

Best place we have ever stayed in:

  • Es war einfach alles perfekt. Schon vor der Anreise hat uns Anita unsere Gastgeberin kontaktiert um Details zu klären. Sie selbst hat uns dann vor Ort empfangen und uns wirklich alles gezeigt. Darüber hinaus hat Sie enorm viele Vorschläge für Ausflüge und Sehenswürdigkeiten vorbereitet, mit Einträgen in verschiedene Karten. Freundlichkeit und Zeit zum Plausch sind wir von den Iren schon gewohnt aber Sie hat es noch übertroffen. Beste Unterkunft in der wir je waren und wir kommen wieder.
  • Everything was just perfect. Even before the arrival Anita our hostess contacted us to clarify details. She herself then received us on the spot and really showed us everything. In addition, she has prepared many suggestions for trips and attractions, with entries in various maps. Friendliness and time to chat we are already used by the Irish but you have exceeded it. Best place we have ever stayed in and will be back.

Review by MH, Germany – June 2018

 

Will definitely be returning:

Wonderful! The cottage is the perfect place to relax and unwind! The setting and views are stunning. Quiet location but a close enough drive to various tourist sights and towns. The house is spacious, clean, comfortable and has everything you’ll need for your stay. The kitchen is fully equipped for cooking family meals and the wood burner kept us cosy. Anita was the perfect host – quick to reply to any query or question, gave us detailed tourist information and directions. She went above and beyond to bake a cake and put up birthday banners for our arrival! Will definitely be returning to this fabulous place soon!

Review by JG, Larne/Carrickfergus – February 2018

 

The location was excellent:

  • Wonderful house in a beautiful location.
  • The location was excellent with a wonderful view of lower Lough Erne.

Review by CK, Ireland – November 2017

 

Wish we had more time:

Beautiful peaceful location in a gorgeous well left kept home. Only wish we had more time to spend there.

Review by GT, Australia – September 2017


A peaceful idyll:

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful cottage on the shores of Loch Erne! This was the perfect place for a peaceful idyll in the Irish countryside. We found the cottage well-equipped for self-catering and prepared most of our meals in-house (the gourmet chef in our group did lament the lack of a good sharp chef’s knife, but he’s pretty picky that way). Anita was a veritable fount of information about the place and activities in the area, and pointed us to several nice things we saw during our visit. She had a small mountain of documents, maps, brochures, etc., available, not to mention the website and the turn-by-turn directions to the place complete with photographs. She was easy to contact, and very helpful with information and dealing with minor issues. We really couldn’t have asked for a better host. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again when in the vicinity of Enniskillen!

Review by GS, Australia/USA – September 2017

UPDATE – Chef knife purchased, all knives sharpened and a large wok added! Anita

 

A lovely relaxing couple of nights:

Hi Anita, Just a quick note to say thanks a million for the lovely stay in the house and despite the bad weather we had a lovely relaxing couple of nights in Shamrock cottage. Hope to get back again soon. Beautiful house in a beautiful quiet location. Very relaxing. Couldn’t ask for more. Thanks again TJ.

Review by TJ, Dublin – August 2017

 

Tranquil surroundings, perfect for relaxing and unwinding:

Would absolutely recommend staying here. It’s a stunning location and tranquil surroundings, perfect for relaxing and unwinding. The house is very well equipped and we made use of the kitchen to cook family meals each evening, finding everything we needed to eat well at home. Highly recommend this property for families, especially those who enjoy the outdoors.

Review by PV, Netherlands – August 2017

 

Lake view is stunning:

In short, if you are looking to stay in County Fermanagh, you want to stay here. Just awesome, secluded and safe in a gated small group of homes, with a great yard and lack frontage. The sitting room with lake view is stunning. Convenient towns, restaurants, and pubs only a short drive. Very cozy and clean. Close to great places like Cavan burren park and marble arch caves and many other. Anita is an attentive hostess and will make sure you have all the information you need to make the most of your holiday. Simply great!

Review by JR, USA – July 2017

 

The perfect getaway:

This lakeside cottage was the perfect getaway and everything I was hoping for. I spent a weekend here for a long overdue reunion with some friends, and the peacefulness of the location made the weekend all the more special. The inside of the cottage was very comfortable, and easily accommodated the six of us. However, we spent most of our time outside, as there are so many hiking trails and stunning viewpoints in the area (although you will need a car). A barbecue on the porch overlooking the lake was the perfect way to cap off a great weekend! Anita was very welcoming, flexible and informative on the area. I would definitely return!

Review by PC, Ireland – June 2017

 

Perfect place to stay:

Anita made us so very welcome, the accommodation was absolutely perfect in every way – location, facilities (it had everything), cleanliness. The beds were blissful – we all said we’d never slept so well. Most of all Anita was so helpful and nothing was to much trouble. A perfect perfect place to stay. Thanks you so much for everything.

Review by MM, Ireland – June 2017

 

A nice relaxing stay:

We stayed with family and friends of a weekend in July. The cottage has everything you need for a nice relaxing stay. The view and surroundings are brilliant. Anita is a great hostess and will make you feel very welcome at her home.

Review by MG, England – July 2017

 

Comfortable and very spacious:

German review: Tolle und hochklassige Unterkunft, sehr sauber, komfortabel und geräumig. Anita ist ein perfekter Gastgeber und kümmert sich sehr um ihre Gäste, man fühlt sich sofort willkommen. Wirklich sehr zu empfehlen, wir werden definitiv wieder kommen

English review: Great, clean and high-class accommodation, comfortable and very spacious. Anita is a perfect host and is caring a lot about her guests, you feel welcome from the very first moment. Highly recommended, we will definately come back.

Review by DH, Germany – April 2017

 

Shamrock Cottage:

Anita’s home is in the most beautiful place to spend time with the family. We all had a fantastic time. And whilst there is much to explore in the surrounding areas, we preferred just hanging out fishing by the lake as a family. Thank you very much.

Review by CM, London – April 2017

 

Paradise:

For me, Paradise – can’t wait to come back….

Review by SR, Ballycastle – April 2017

 

Shamrock Cottage:

Wonderful kitchen, loved to cook for the family!

Review by RM, London – April 2007

 

Shamrock Cottage reviews:

The cottage’s location, right on the lakeside, is very special. We had many magical moments watching the moon rise and the trees sway!!! Plus the private acres around the house were perfect for my kids to safely cycle and potter about.

Review by FW, Dublin – April 2017

 

Shamrock Cottage reviews, 5 star self-catering

Really great stay at shamrock cottage. Great location to explore fermanagh and provides everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay.

Review by AM, Saintfield – April 2017

 

Lovely family time in a cosy home from home.

The property was spacious, clean and homely, in a lovely location by the loch. It had everything we needed on arrival-lots of clean towels, hot water and a burner to keep us cosy.

Review by EW, England – March 2017

 

Shamrock Cottage

Fantastic location, sun shone every day! Wish we had another day!!

Review by DW, Belfast – March 2017

 

Shamrock Cottage, fishing haven

Anita’s home is absolutely stunning! I live since 9 years in Ireland and Visited a lot of different places and I have to admit that this is the most beautiful place I have seen so far. If you are looking for a safe and quiet place close to nature this is the place to go. The house is super clean and Anita is a role model for all other hosts on this platform! Thank you so much for this unforgettable memory and I hope to see you again soon.

Review by Andre, Vali, John and Marko, Dublin – February 2017

 

Shamrock Cottage, 5 star self-catering 

Anita was very helpful and patient as we ran quite late. Everything worked well and there were no issues.

Review by MH, Dublin – October 2016

 

Shamrock Cottage, 5 star self-catering

Anita was warm, engaging and hospitable. The house was lovely, clean and It came equipped with all the facilities anyone would need to enjoy their stay. It was situated in a beautiful quiet and secluded location. I would wholeheartedly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

What Raymond loved about your listing: 
The area and the quality of the accommodation.

What Raymond thought you could improve about the experience: 
Very difficult to raise the bar from here.

Review by RC, Belfast – September 2016

 

Shamrock Cottage

My sister and I took the kids for a family holiday, we wanted somewhere quiet where we could spend time together – the cottage was perfect for that 🙂 it is very peaceful, we played hide and seek outside and enjoyed walks by the lake. It’s a short journey to local amenities, so a car is a must.

Review by JH, Moneymore – August 2016

 

Shamrock Cottage review, 5 star self-catering

Anita was there to meet us on arrival – she was really friendly and wanted us to get the most out of our stay, she provided lots of great information about the area, practical info about the house which saved us looking for it and also left us some great scones! The location was great for making the most of the lough for some swimming and kayaking which was exactly what we wanted as well as being no distance to the coast and other walks. The house itself was clean, well equipped and perfect for relaxing. Just sorry we couldn’t have a longer stay, will visit again!

Review by KO’H – August 2016

Shamrock Cottage, 5 star self-catering

Shamrock cottage es un alojamiento perfecto para conocer y disfrutar de la zona de Lower Laugh Erne. La ubicación es inmejorable, en la orilla del lago. La casa es preciosa. Muy amplia en todas las estancias , confortable y acogedora con increíbles vistas. Dispone de todas las comodidades necesarias para una estancia inolvidable. Anita, la propietaria de la casa, ha estado pendiente desde el primer momento de facilitar tanto la llegada , como la estancia en la casa. Nos ha encantado!! Sin duda es un lugar para repetir.

What MC loved about your listing: 
La ubicación y las vistas al lago. La casa, por su amplitud, su dotación y sus comodidades, y lo acogedora que es en todas las estancias: Salón, comedor-cocina, dormitorios… Y por supuesto la amabilidad, la y disponibilidad de Anita en todo lo hemos necesitado.

 What MC thought you could improve about the experience: 
Es inmejorable..

Review by MC – Valencia, Spain – September 2016

 

Shamrock Cottage review, 5 star holiday rental

We has the most peaceful and relaxing few days in the beautiful and clean shamrock cottage. It had everything and more you could wish for a real home away from home. The girls were safe playing around the grounds and got in a bit of fishing of the jetty. Anita was so helpful very organised! I recommend anyone to stay here if they want a relaxing break away.

Review by DM, Derry/Londonderry – August 2016

 

5 Star Accommodation at Shamrock Cottage

My family and I recently spent the best part of a week at this 5 star self-catering cottage.  The cottage certainly lives up to the description in the advertisement and more.  It is ideal for a wide variety of guests, from families, to couples, to those looking for a relaxing break or an activity based holiday given its easy access to local outdoor amenities.

It is fully equipped, has a 5 star tourist board rating and can sleep 6 people in high quality, self-catering accommodation.  The cottage is set in a large open garden area with a patio area offering fantastic views of the Lough.  For chillier evenings a wood burning stove is available in the lounge.  The cottage has 3 bedrooms with the master bedroom benefitting from an en-suite bathroom and fabulous views of the Lough.

The host was amazing and provided a very tasty welcome pack.  It has a very homely atmosphere with all mod cons provided.  Board games, books, DVDs and CDs were also provided.  The cottage has use of its own jetty plus bbq equipment and an outdoor seating area to enjoy the views.

We had a fantastic time at Shamrock Cottage and will definitely book again for next summer.  Being on the edge of the Lough the views are amazing and yet the cottage is within easy reach of Kesh, Belleek, Lusty Beg and many more local attractions.  Plenty to see and do in the area.  I would highly recommend a visit to Shamrock Cottage.

Review by JC, Armagh – July 2106

 

Well equipped cottage in a peaceful location

Well equipped cottage and of a very good standard. Nice welcome pack of freshly baked scones, locally produced raspberry jam, butter and milk. It was the perfect location for launching the kayaks.

Review by MQ, Ballygally – July 2016

 

Possibly the best Lough side Cottage in Fermanagh

Upon arrival we were met by the owner Anita, an enthusiastic and engaging Lady who instantly made us relax and feel at home. She spent half an hour showing us around the property explaining the essentials like Heating controls and Kitchen appliances etc.

She was also a wealth of knowledge on the local area; from ancient stone attractions and churches to where is best to grab lunch. She even left us a welcome basket with milk, butter, fruit and a delicious banana loaf. Unbelievable start!

The Cottage is located on a private site with approximately 3 other Cottages and a larger Reception Building. There is an electric security gate at the Main Entrance so you have that extra peace of mind. Entering and exiting is still very easy though with your own key-fob.

The first thing we noticed when entering the Cottage was just how new and spotlessly clean everything was compared to our previous Fermanagh adventures. The Cottage was built in 2008 from memory and IMO this gives it a distinct advantage over similar dated properties nearby. You will not find any creaking floorboards or stairs here which was a constant annoyance during night hours in other places we have stayed.

There were 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, two baths and the one I used had a fantastic power shower! The Kitchen and living room are both on the ground level making your stay as comfortable as can be. I have stayed in 3 other places around the Lough and all 3 have these rooms on different levels making things unnecessarily awkward.

The furniture is again like new, with a combination of comfy fabric sofas and solid wooden chairs strong enough to hold big lumps like myself. The beds were of similar solid construction and the pillows and bedding were quality with spares in the wardrobe if desired. Towels were fresh and softened and each WC had a different scented hand soap. These small things really make the difference. Moving outside there was a patio area with table, chairs and parasol.

Review by IG, Belfast – July 2016

 

Peace and Tranquility at Edge of Lough Erne

Immaculate cottage in beautifully peaceful location. Loved waking up to the sound of sheep baaing and the Lough lapping. Anita the host was super friendly with lots of info about the area and even leaving us a homemade Strawberry Cheesecake to enjoy. Would love to return!

Review by NW, Bangor – July 2016

 

Good place for de-stressing

Super welcome; Anita had the cottage prepared and spotless for our arrival. Very good suggestions about the locality. Cottage is fantastic, with great kitchen and living room. Good place for de-stressing.

What we loved about your listing: 
Clean, tidy, well equipped cottage. Very relaxed atmosphere.

What we thought you could improve about the experience: 
Nothing we can think of.

Review by PS, Belfast – July 2016

 

We loved the outdoor area!

We had an excellent stay at Shamrock cottage! It’s such a beautiful place to stay and an amazing location 🙂 Anita is a great host and made us feel so welcome. The cottage is so beautiful and we loved the outdoor area! I would 100% recommend shamrock cottage!

Review by EL, Manchester – July 2016

 

The most amazing setting

Such a beautiful house in the most amazing setting! Great few days here! Anita made us feel very welcome – would definitely come back.

Review by JM, Belfast – July 2016

Shamrock Cottage Guest Reviews 5 star in Fermanagh